Morbid: The Seven Acolytes

In the beginning of the game, Morbid: The Seven Acolytes begins handing out skill points to the player every time they level up. However, this isn’t actually explained until much later, leaving many early-game players scratching their heads over what exactly they’re supposed to do with these skill points.

So I’ve created this handy guide to skill points in Morbid: The Seven Acolytes.

As you earn XP in the game, you’ll notice that the brain icon in the upper left-hand corner of your screen is filling with a glowy liquid.

Morbid: The Seven Acolytes

Every time this fills to the top, you earn a skill point and the meter resets. The number below the brain icon is how many skill points you currently have banked.

Don’t worry, you won’t lose your banked skill points when you die, which is good because you won’t be able to spend them for a while. In fact, the option doesn’t even open up until after you’ve defeated the first Acolyte, Lorn the Blind, the Lord of Loneliness. This means you have to get through the docks of the Cursed Hamlet and deep into the Caverns of Solitude without being able to do anything with those skill points. Depending on how fast you are at the game, this could take you quite some time.

Morbid: The Seven Acolytes

You’ll fight Lorn on a staircase (shown above), and once you beat him, you can progress further up the stairs. Just beyond this is where you’ll finally get to start using those skill points you’ve been earning.

First, though, you need some Blessings.

At this point, the game will walk you through the process, but to quickly go over it, you’ll need to bust open Praying Statues to claim the Blessings inside. Praying Statues look like this:

Morbid: The Seven Acolytes

And your blessings look a little bit like wooden tags with various symbols carved into them.

Morbid: The Seven Acolytes

Now that you have some blessings you can slot them at any shrine. The next time you visit a shrine, a new option will have opened up called Blessings. Use this option to slot the Blessing you’d like to use.

In case you don’t remember, shrines look like this:

Morbid: The Seven Acolytes

Once you have a Blessing equipped, you can enhance that blessing by spending your skill points. Note that each Blessing has five slots, yet these aren’t filled at a 1/1 ratio. They get more expensive as you rank them up.

  • The first upgrade costs 1 skill point.
  • The second upgrade costs 2 skill points.
  • The third upgrade costs 3 skill points.
  • The fourth upgrade costs 4 skill points.
  • The fifth (and final) upgrade costs 5 skill points.

If you do the math, that means it costs 15 skill points to fully upgrade a Blessing.

So is it worth it to upgrade fully? I guess that depends on the skill, but note that a fully upgraded Blessing of Stoutness will almost double the size of your health bar (it actually grows it from 100 to 190). Here’s a comparison between the base health bar and one with a fully upgraded Blessing of Stoutness applied.

Morbid: The Seven Acolytes

That’s no joke, right?

In the beginning, you’re given three Blessings, and you can slot two of them. You will find several more as you progress through the game, and the number of Blessings you can equip at once will grow as well.

One last thing I should point out: Even after you spend your skill points, you can still see the total amount you’ve earned by checking your inventory.

Morbid: The Seven Acolytes

This isn’t your banked total, but the total you’ve earned in the game, whether you’ve spent them or not.

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
1 year ago

Awesome guide, thanks for writing! I think the only thing missing is the list of actual blessings. I’m trying to plan for what to upgrade, but this information does make it sound like it’s maybe not something I need to worry about. Thanks again

8 months ago

I was looking for a “which to upgrade first and by how much” can you help with that?

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x